Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Turbo Build

Once you've introduced yourself why not throw up a few pictures of your car or a project thread?
paulotc
Noob!

Turbo Build

Postby paulotc » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:53 am

Just getting ready for my build but have a few small issues
Car is idling pretty rough it sounds as if its running lean. It did have a problem with compression in cylinder 1 before just wondering could it be the same again? The valves were done in that cylinder.
But this time round the thermostat is Sticking and not allowing the car get to normal running temperature while driving but if i leave it running parked up for about 10 mins it will get to temperature. As I drive it cools down again. Im not sure if this would affect the running of the engine myselft as im not a mechanic :lol:
If it turns out to be the valves the head gasket will need replacing. I have a 1.8mm apexi metal gasket on the way for my turbo build and rather than just using a standard one and waste money i would prefer to put in the 1.8mm but would i be able to drive it without the turbo set up in the car as normal? ie running smoothly as will have NCT in a few weeks?
Any extra info wud be greatly appreciated :)

JZZ30
Trc On!

Re: Turbo Build

Postby JZZ30 » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:04 pm

paulotc wrote:But this time round the thermostat is Sticking and not allowing the car get to normal running temperature while driving but if i leave it running parked up for about 10 mins it will get to temperature. As I drive it cools down again. Im not sure if this would affect the running of the engine myselft as im not a mechanic