Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

milage frozen

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
User avatar
moomoo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: galway
Contact:

milage frozen

Postby moomoo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:26 pm

the day I bought the car it had 69969km on the clock and the other morning I noticed it was at the same. the other 2 milage counters (not sure of their proper names) are working perfectly and the main milage counter was working the day I test drove it so Im thinking something happened when they were servicing it or getting it ready.

Anyway does anyone know is it something simple like a blown fuse or disconnected wire?

User avatar
Richie_c
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Postby Richie_c » Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:49 pm

How long have you had it?? If you only got it recently bring it back to the garage and let them worry about it
300 rwhp thanks to
Image

User avatar
moomoo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: galway
Contact:

Postby moomoo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:00 pm

I got it last wednesday, its just the hassle of bringing it up to dublin and then theyll probably want to keep it over night or something

User avatar
Richie_c
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Postby Richie_c » Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:02 pm

Ah I see your problem, not to sure how to get it sorted but I'm sure someone will
300 rwhp thanks to
Image

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:22 pm

Maybe remove the speedo cluster and see if the wires are connected properly


Where did u buy it if you don't mind me asking?
Last edited by Dan on Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
moomoo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: galway
Contact:

Postby moomoo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:23 pm

Dan wrote:where did u buy it? Myabe remove the speedo cluster and see if the wires are connected properly


Where did u buy it if you dont mind me asking?


trade sales ireland up in dublin near lusk. they used to be in ballbriggan

User avatar
altezzaboy
Trc Off
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:51 pm
Location: wexford

Postby altezzaboy » Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:28 pm

big mistake i think there affilated to jap cars dublin just a different tradin name i see some of the cars from jap cars where for sale by them aswell
if in doubt dff er out

User avatar
Dizz
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:52 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Postby Dizz » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:13 pm

Sounds to me like it's been clocked & they've messed something up...

I hate garages! So hard to find any reliable ones who you can trust!

User avatar
elexes
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:20 am
Location: Tullamore , Offaly

Postby elexes » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:49 pm

Dizz wrote:Sounds to me like it's been clocked & they've messed something up...

I hate garages! So hard to find any reliable ones who you can trust!


id say the same . that or else your spedo isnt working correctly at all
if ive helped you in anyway vote for carlow to be the first tezzaworld drinking session

User avatar
Richie_c
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Postby Richie_c » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:10 pm

altezzaboy wrote:big mistake i think there affilated to jap cars dublin just a different tradin name i see some of the cars from jap cars where for sale by them aswell


Yeah as far as I know they're the same, think they use another name as well
300 rwhp thanks to
Image

User avatar
Robin H
Southern England Rep
Posts: 2356
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:23 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Postby Robin H » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:53 pm

does your car have any sort of a speed de-limiter fitted to it ?????

if not I would be interesting to see if your car can go above 180kmph

the only reason I say this is I have the same problem on my Altezza (it's been like this for years just modifying has gotten in the way of me fixing it lol ) and I know that my car goes way over what it's limited to and I have nothing fitted to mine as far as I know ( the car had this problem when I brought it )
I've been wondering for some time know if there's away they can frig it through the clock so the speed limiter doesn't work,

As for the garage clocking it I can't see why they would do that after the car has been sold and the new owner seeing the working clock read out

User avatar
moomoo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: galway
Contact:

Postby moomoo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:59 pm

I heard Jap Cars used to import car using a company called Paragon which trade sales ireland now own (or claim to own) but I didnt think they had any dealings with one another now.
Grove cars sales in craughwell (galway) get there cars from Jap Cars and I heard a lot of garages in Dublin do to, so is it really possible to get a genuine one? The milage on the cars advertised on carzone seems to be always between 40000-50000km (kinda suspicious)
Anyway a lad doing electronic engineering said he'll have a look on saturday.

User avatar
moomoo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: galway
Contact:

Postby moomoo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:06 pm

Robin H wrote:does your car have any sort of a speed de-limiter fitted to it ?????

if not I would be interesting to see if your car can go above 180kmph

the only reason I say this is I have the same problem on my Altezza (it's been like this for years just modifying has gotten in the way of me fixing it lol ) and I know that my car goes way over what it's limited to and I have nothing fitted to mine as far as I know ( the car had this problem when I brought it )
I've been wondering for some time know if there's away they can frig it through the clock so the speed limiter doesn't work,

As for the garage clocking it I can't see why they would do that after the car has been sold and the new owner seeing the working clock read out


I haven't tried doing 180kmph yet, but the engine is fairly modified and has a sports clutch, 4pt harnesses etc. so I wondering was it being used on a track in japan so it could be de-limited

User avatar
Robin H
Southern England Rep
Posts: 2356
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:23 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Postby Robin H » Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:07 pm

did you not say it was working when you test drove it ?????

User avatar
moomoo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: galway
Contact:

Postby moomoo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:08 pm

Robin H wrote:did you not say it was working when you test drove it ?????

yeah


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests