Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
blacktoprs200
Trc On!
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:08 am
Location: Derbyshire

Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby blacktoprs200 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:29 pm

hi there i own an auto altezza and the engine has gone. i have 1 simple question to ask? will an engine from a manual altezza fit into my auto altezza? ive had many different answers so i just want someone to give me a straight answer??

ESXTEZZ
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:46 pm
Location: Essex England
Contact:

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby ESXTEZZ » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:26 pm

Yes

User avatar
NinjaPower
Trc Off
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:38 am
Location: Surrey UK

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby NinjaPower » Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:25 am

It will fit.

But... It's not that simple..

There is a lot of differences between the auto and manual engines, there is reasons why the manual engine makes more power than the auto.

I'm sure it'll be reasonable easy to fit the engine, your problem will be when it comes to pluging the loom in, some of the sensors and plugs etc may be different etc..
And the biggest potential issue may be how the ecu handles the different engines.

I don't doubt that it's possible to do, but it may not be quite as simple as it first seems.

daveo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:44 am

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby daveo » Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:33 pm

you will have no problems . its a straight foreward changeover. everything hooks up the same. did one last week ...no issues :)

User avatar
Newerakaye
Trc Off
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:19 pm
Location: Devon

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby Newerakaye » Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:01 pm

its pretty much as straight forward as you can get, just have the right gear and tools at the ready and your away.

User avatar
NinjaPower
Trc Off
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:38 am
Location: Surrey UK

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby NinjaPower » Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:56 pm

daveo wrote:you will have no problems . its a straight foreward changeover. everything hooks up the same. did one last week ...no issues :)


How does it run? Does it over fuel? How much slower is it now?

daveo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:44 am

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby daveo » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:52 am

NinjaPower wrote:
daveo wrote:you will have no problems . its a straight foreward changeover. everything hooks up the same. did one last week ...no issues :)


How does it run? Does it over fuel? How much slower is it now?



it runs perfect and does not overfuel. runs a bit better even, me thinks ! :)
!!!

User avatar
NinjaPower
Trc Off
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:38 am
Location: Surrey UK

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby NinjaPower » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:14 pm

daveo wrote: runs a bit better even


I remain sceptical of that.

daveo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:44 am

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby daveo » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:51 pm

NinjaPower wrote:It will fit.

But... It's not that simple..

There is a lot of differences between the auto and manual engines, there is reasons why the manual engine makes more power than the auto.

I'm sure it'll be reasonable easy to fit the engine, your problem will be when it comes to pluging the loom in, some of the sensors and plugs etc may be different etc..
And the biggest potential issue may be how the ecu handles the different engines.

I don't doubt that it's possible to do, but it may not be quite as simple as it first seems.



i have done it and tell the lad there is no problem. on the other hand you have not done it and give potential problems that might occur which none of i came across and you tell me your sceptical???? im quiet lost here

User avatar
jfatboy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby jfatboy » Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:09 pm

the auto makes less power i'm sure simply because of the box itself.

Lewis Altezza
Trc Off
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:24 pm

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby Lewis Altezza » Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:12 pm

Nah its not the box, I have a rs200 5AT E shift and standard toyota quotes are 200bhp opposed to the 210bhp manual version, the reason for lower output is slightly smaller inlet valves possibly exhaust too, I believe the cams are the same but the headers and inlet manifold are different to determine the torque characteristics.
I believe my AT goes ok, feels like a 200bhp car anyway...

User avatar
jfatboy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Postby jfatboy » Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:06 pm

Lewis Altezza wrote:Nah its not the box, I have a rs200 5AT E shift and standard toyota quotes are 200bhp opposed to the 210bhp manual version, the reason for lower output is slightly smaller inlet valves possibly exhaust too, I believe the cams are the same but the headers and inlet manifold are different to determine the torque characteristics.
I believe my AT goes ok, feels like a 200bhp car anyway...

didnt know this! would an autos map be diffrent aswell? working in tune with the box?


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron