Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

pause before power band???

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
User avatar
dc5altezza
Trc Off
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:41 pm
Location: Dublin

pause before power band???

Postby dc5altezza » Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:10 pm

has anyone else had any weird problems with the acceleration seeming to pause slightly jsu goin into the vvti at 5k rpm.... really annoying cant figure out whats up....

User avatar
Dizz
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:52 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Postby Dizz » Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:02 pm

Sounds like your MAF sensor mate, very common problem on Altezzas. Happens to most of them...

If you do a bit of searching you'll find a guide to cleaning them (doesn't always work, sometimes need replacing)

User avatar
Gerbo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Meath

Postby Gerbo » Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:11 am

Was told on here that the pause is normal. But as Dizz says cleaning the MAF may improve it. A new MAF is about €100 from Mr T

User avatar
dc5altezza
Trc Off
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:41 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby dc5altezza » Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:20 pm

MR T???? sorry boys new to this site?

cool i'll try cleaning it but one other thing ya might know of is cruisin at 3k rpm the car jus starts to kinda judder..... any ideas????

User avatar
Noel
Moderator
Posts: 3726
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: oldville

Postby Noel » Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:21 pm

T = Toyota main dealer :wink:

User avatar
james1485
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: N. Ireland

Postby james1485 » Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:47 pm

same here guys i just lifted my tezza 2day.

i thought it had lifted dirt from the tank but ive driven about 300 miles so it would of cleared by now.

sometimes it jurkes like its miss firein' or something, but not all the time.

then when i hit about 4k revs it like, dies down abit then the VVTI kicks in when i hit about 5 - 5.5k and goes well from there on up the revs

its so annoying!!

would toyota be able to say what it is? coz i have 3 months warranty on everything

User avatar
powertezza
Trc On!
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Enniscorthy

Postby powertezza » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:31 pm

yep sounds like the airflow meter, mine was f*** and was kinda spluttery before the vvti kicks in, think i paid around 150 from toyota for it, seems to be a common thing with them
Mick

1999 black tezza

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:42 pm

Now that you mention it.. If I put my foot down suddenly in lower revs it splutters a bit for about a 1/2 second before applying power, but it doesn't bog down after that. I just put it down to the ECU not being happy with the petrol over here and lived with it. I wonder could it be the same problem?

- I was looking for posts on how to clean it, but didn't find anything detailled. Found this on how to do this for a Mazda, I assume it would be similar enough to the Altezza?
http://www.mazda6tech.com/index.php?opt ... 2&Itemid=1

R.
Last edited by Rob on Fri Apr 04, 2008 7:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
shakey
Altezza Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: tarbert co.kerry ireland
Contact:

Postby shakey » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:15 am

mine tends to do it at the 100km mark if u go over it slowly she gives a bit of a jerk for a few seconds and then stops doing it..just thought that it was cause of the petro over here??

User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Postby Mr. Tezza » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:15 pm

do you have an induction kit
Kerry Rep

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:58 pm

Mr. Tezza wrote:do you have an induction kit


Not me anyway. Picked up a can of contact cleaner in Maplin, will have a go at cleaning it over the weekend.

R.

User avatar
james1485
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: N. Ireland

Postby james1485 » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:41 pm

Mr. Tezza wrote:do you have an induction kit


no i dont have 1 either. must ring about the warranty and get it sorted.

joshhgt
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:18 pm

Postby joshhgt » Fri Apr 04, 2008 9:03 pm

hi guys,i have the same problem and was putting it down to the petrol,where is the maf sensor on the car.
i noticed on my car when the temp gauge hit 70 the car starts to shake and it loses power for a few seconds then when it tips over it the car runs perfect.

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Fri Apr 04, 2008 9:15 pm

joshhgt wrote:where is the maf sensor on the car.


Here ya go!
http://forum.altezzaclub.org.au/ar/t2050.htm

R.

User avatar
james1485
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: N. Ireland

Postby james1485 » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:17 pm

Rob wrote:
joshhgt wrote:where is the maf sensor on the car.


Here ya go!
http://forum.altezzaclub.org.au/ar/t2050.htm

R.


thanks for that. will try it 2morrow.


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest