Page 1 of 3

Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:33 pm
by luckyfrank
Got a second hand throttle body fitted today rpm is staying at 1500 rpm at idel being like this for nearly 2 hours, new throttle body not making any knocking noises like the old one bit worried though i saw him clean the body with a rag is there a sensor in there ???

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:14 pm
by KaTaLy5t
Yeah there's a sensor in there but I don't think it's very delicate so it's should be grand.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:14 pm
by pmurph
id blame the new throttle body mine was idling high aswell perfect after i changed it cleaned d new one wit brake cleaner and a rag no bother

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:17 pm
by luckyfrank
KaTaLy5t wrote:Yeah there's a sensor in there but I don't think it's very delicate so it's should be grand.



What about the idleing will it return to normal

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:24 pm
by KaTaLy5t
Did you reset the ECU after changing the throttle body? If not you could try that and it might fix it. Mine usually only idles like that until it's warm and then drops down.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:28 pm
by luckyfrank
KaTaLy5t wrote:Did you reset the ECU after changing the throttle body? If not you could try that and it might fix it. Mine usually only idles like that until it's warm and then drops down.



Ive an after market ecu in mine though i doubt that controls the thorttle body, detach the battery will reset the ecu right

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:41 pm
by KaTaLy5t
Yeah that should reset it.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:42 pm
by luckyfrank
KaTaLy5t wrote:Yeah that should reset it.



Have to get the old mans tool bag and do it 2moro,

what exactly does reseting the ecu do ?

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:51 pm
by KaTaLy5t
It lets the ECU 'learn' to use the new throttle body or any other mods you've done. It'd be used to having the dodgy the TB and now that you've put in a new one it still thinks the old one is there and that might be why it's idling high.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:32 pm
by Moe
I'd say your rear tyre pressures are too high.. However, if you rectify this, and don't tell the ECU, you may experience a slight knocking sound from the nearside upper suspension arm.
A quick fix is to remove the radio and wrap it in an oiley rag and put a match to it.
For 2001+ cars you need to remove the radio and the entire centre console, plus the rear centre armrest, and burn these all in one go.
The problem should go away within the next 100,000k miles.

Hope this helps.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:44 pm
by nivek
just ajust the throttle position sensor on the side of the TB .
leave the car runnig and open the two screws slightly and rotate the sensor a little bit.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:12 pm
by Damok
If you do reset the ECU dose it loose the mapping settings tho that have been put on it. . :?: :?:

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:25 pm
by Moe
Ya, you are on the right track there ok.. I lost visual for a few minutes but all seems to be back on-line now.
My ECU has an over-boost conecter applied to the output board, and pin number nine relates to the source code for the mapping software.
If I remove this conecter will my overall power (bhp versus torque) increase by 10 bhp or should it stay the same?
The reason I ask this is because my mate has a Porsche and he reckons that it may be quicker than my car in a straight line.. I'm not so sure...
Thanks for your advice.

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:35 am
by luckyfrank
nivek wrote:just ajust the throttle position sensor on the side of the TB .
leave the car runnig and open the two screws slightly and rotate the sensor a little bit.



Impossible to get to those screws though, you'd need the car jacked as there facing the road and even than woud be hard to do with all the stuff in the way

Re: Throttle body fitted

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:23 pm
by luckyfrank
Ive the battery detached right now how long should i leave it for ?