Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Timing Belt Question

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
knobbo
Noob!
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:39 am

Timing Belt Question

Postby knobbo » Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:51 pm

Hi,

2 questions, mates a mechanic and has an altezza. Going to change timing belt.

Does anyone know where I can get my hands on a sort of guide on how to change T belt and we are obviously abit anxious seeing as this will be the first time doing this on an altezza.

Is the crank shaft a free floating crank and if it is what tools need to be used to lock the crank shaft up and where to lock?

Would you recommned changing the crank and cam seals too, are they known to give trouble or would i get away with not changing?

Thanks!

altezza 1987
Trc On!
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby altezza 1987 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:22 pm

knobbo wrote:Hi,

2 questions, mates a mechanic and has an altezza. Going to change timing belt.

Does anyone know where I can get my hands on a sort of guide on how to change T belt and we are obviously abit anxious seeing as this will be the first time doing this on an altezza.

Is the crank shaft a free floating crank and if it is what tools need to be used to lock the crank shaft up and where to lock?

Would you recommned changing the crank and cam seals too, are they known to give trouble or would i get away with not changing?

Thanks!


yes lad, ere if you are changing the timing belt you will have to change the water pump, tensioner, idler, cam shaft oil seal, crank shaft oil seal, and hydralic tensioner.
i know it seems like a lot to change but i just realised this when i had changed my timing belt and now i have to change it all again.
your far beta of getting this done incase anyone of the above gave up.
im bought a timing belt kit from xnickx for around 210 euro, that includes all of the above.
youl find him in car parts i think on this website, hes the cheapest about.

User avatar
E910
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby E910 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:30 pm

Altezza 1987 is dead right. You might as well replace everything while you're in there for peace of mind & xnickx is going to be your cheapest option.

Here's a DIY if you're upto doing it yourself http://z4.invisionfree.com/lexusaltezza ... topic=8708

User avatar
babog
Trc On!
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:26 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby babog » Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:18 pm

I could not access the above link, But found this http://www.jpnz.co.nz/afawcs0131171/CAT ... tails.html while i was looking for timing belt instructions myself.
If you drink, don't park. Accidents cause people.

User avatar
maxylewith
Trc On!
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 12:15 am
Location: New Ross, Ireland

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby maxylewith » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:08 pm

Hi!
I`ve bought tbelt today. There`s no any word on the box about altezza.
They`re just celicas,mr2 and carina 2.0 16V.
Gates
5404XS
39177x25HSN
The motorfactors man found it in cataloque by 13568-80015 part number and told there`s no way it wouldn`t fit.
Is that suitable for Altezza?
Cheers!
Let me know about my orts - still learning ;)

My tezza is for sale.

User avatar
E910
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby E910 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:55 pm

They've given you the wrong belt. Altezza 3SGE belt belt specs are; 174MY25 (174 teeth by 25mm wide)

http://qiklink.acl.co.nz/Modules/Catalo ... listtype=0

http://qiklink.acl.co.nz/Modules/Catalo ... p=IT108603

User avatar
maxylewith
Trc On!
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 12:15 am
Location: New Ross, Ireland

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby maxylewith » Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:27 pm

E910 wrote:They've given you the wrong belt. Altezza 3SGE belt belt specs are; 174MY25 (174 teeth by 25mm wide)

http://qiklink.acl.co.nz/Modules/Catalo ... listtype=0

http://qiklink.acl.co.nz/Modules/Catalo ... p=IT108603

Thanks lad. I knew it`s wrong one. Tried to find any info on gates website without results-just fan belts.
Do You think that 174MY25 will says anything to motorfuckers? ;) Is it possible to get tbelt for altezza from motorfactors or just main dealer or Nick?Cheers!
Let me know about my orts - still learning ;)

My tezza is for sale.

lanigan
Midlands Rep
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:03 pm
Location: Galway

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby lanigan » Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:34 pm

maxylewith wrote:[
Thanks lad. I knew it`s wrong one. Tried to find any info on gates website without results-just fan belts.
Do You think that 174MY25 will says anything to motorfuckers? ;) Is it possible to get tbelt for altezza from motorfactors or just main dealer or Nick?Cheers!


174MY25 should mean something to your local motor factor. Most motorfactors stock blueprint products from a jap parts specialist in dublin or at least have a catalogue, this details everything they need. Gates should have a belt to suit, if i still worked in the shop i'd look but i don't so i can't :roll:

One question though: did you bring in the old belt to them or supply the numbers? Just its kind of standard practice to eye up the belts and they should have spotted it was wrong when the teeth didnt line up if they missed the printed diferences....

User avatar
maxylewith
Trc On!
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 12:15 am
Location: New Ross, Ireland

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby maxylewith » Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:47 pm

lanigan wrote:
maxylewith wrote:[
Thanks lad. I knew it`s wrong one. Tried to find any info on gates website without results-just fan belts.
Do You think that 174MY25 will says anything to motorfuckers? ;) Is it possible to get tbelt for altezza from motorfactors or just main dealer or Nick?Cheers!


174MY25 should mean something to your local motor factor. Most motorfactors stock blueprint products from a jap parts specialist in dublin or at least have a catalogue, this details everything they need. Gates should have a belt to suit, if i still worked in the shop i'd look but i don't so i can't :roll:

One question though: did you bring in the old belt to them or supply the numbers? Just its kind of standard practice to eye up the belts and they should have spotted it was wrong when the teeth didnt line up if they missed the printed diferences....


Thanks Laningan!

Didn`t bring the old belt ,as it`s stiil fitted in car.
Just get back from motorfactors and they`ll get from blueprint right one for me:)
Let me know about my orts - still learning ;)

My tezza is for sale.

User avatar
maxylewith
Trc On!
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 12:15 am
Location: New Ross, Ireland

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby maxylewith » Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:14 pm

Hello again. This time i`ve got belt from blueprint.
Symbols from label : ADT37541
042008
Sybols from belt : A548Y100
174TT
Is that right one finally? :lol:
Thanks for advice!
Let me know about my orts - still learning ;)

My tezza is for sale.

User avatar
E910
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby E910 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:40 pm

Just stumbled upon this old thread. I see you brought a "blueprint" belt. I don't want to be an alarmist but Noel had one of those belts break on him after 60K. Made a right mess. I'd be keeping an eye on it lad.
For anyone else looking to replace their cam belt, get a genuine one through Nick.

User avatar
tomo
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:10 pm
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby tomo » Mon Jun 28, 2010 11:08 pm

I may be wrong but i think a genuine belt from toyota isnt that much money, also you know its going to be the right part and a good quality part.
Image

User avatar
nivek
Trc Off
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:47 pm
Location: ah'lone

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby nivek » Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:42 pm

change the idler and tensioner pullies also
The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it
because the only people who really know where it is
are the ones who have gone over.
-Hunter S. Thompson

lanigan
Midlands Rep
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:03 pm
Location: Galway

Re: Timing Belt Question

Postby lanigan » Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:10 pm

tomo wrote:I may be wrong but i think a genuine belt from toyota isnt that much money, also you know its going to be the right part and a good quality part.


I have to disagree, i sold countless blueprint timing belts and never had one break....
No matter what label is printed on the belt (can have several brands manufactured in one facility) you can always get a bad one, no manufacturer can say they never have a failure, statistical analysis proves this, most processes are based on achieving a 95% confidence level so over the entire production life span of a product they would expect to see a 5% failure rate


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron