Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
User avatar
donato
Trc Off
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:53 pm
Location: Bolton

Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby donato » Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:13 am

Is there a know issue with Altezza's not making the power stated from factory? I've heard from a couple of Toyota specialist tuners that not one Altezza they have had in for work has made book figures. So instead of hitting 210bhp they are pushing out around 170bhp? Is there any way of gaining that power back?

User avatar
wullie_trd
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1061
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:51 pm
Location: Dunfermline, Scotland

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby wullie_trd » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:14 am

I'm sure mine standard when I had it on rolling road made 196bhp.

Then with full exhaust and manifold with blitz panel filter it made 196.6 bhp lol

I don't think many make over 200hp standard
Image

ESXTEZZ
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:46 pm
Location: Essex England
Contact:

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby ESXTEZZ » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:42 am

They are around 200 bhp standard for a healthy engine, they drop power when running low grade fuel. To get the most out of them in stock form in the uk you need to run shell 99. I managed to get 177 whp (just under 220bhp) from nine with a fgk manifold, 2.5" exhaust system, induction kit with a larger airflow meter pipe and tuned with a power fc ecu.

User avatar
banan1984
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1420
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:01 pm
Location: Dunno

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby banan1984 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:01 am

Yeah I think fuel quality has a big impact on 3S-GE as japan have 98octan or so as standard
D700 / RS200

User avatar
Tosh21
Altezza Guru
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:12 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby Tosh21 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:07 am

Not been on a dyno but mine is just always slow whatever I do to it lol
Bear in mind when they state those figures it will be the engine being dynod straight after being built. A rolling road measures power at the wheels and then you can calculate fly wheel hp from there which can be affected by loads of things.

That's what I've been told anyway. They will dyno just the engine when it's built, not a rolling road.

User avatar
donato
Trc Off
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:53 pm
Location: Bolton

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby donato » Sat Nov 22, 2014 6:52 pm

Yeah, well i've just had mine on the rollers recently. It's managed 175bhp @ the flywheel. Speaking to the people who run the rollers and they have said, it's quite common for Altezzas to do this. All the ones they have had in have under produced. Mine being the most powerful one they have had in, the rest managing 150 - 170 bhp.

I think i might have to get an Apexi ECU next :lol:

Ciaranfox09
Trc On!
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:26 pm

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby Ciaranfox09 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 8:19 pm

Are u sure that is at the flywheel figures ??, that sounds crazy that they could be down 57 bhp from factory figures i know fuel octane and loss through wear and tear of the engine but down that much seems a bit strange, I dunno what my altezza is making but its not slow not 150 bhp slow anyway

Trd Shane
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:44 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby Trd Shane » Sat Nov 22, 2014 8:24 pm

150bhp at the flywheel ?? Have they actually checked that it's Altezza engine under the hood and not a Nissan micra :lol: :lol:

That's a fierce drop in power
"If it can't be fixed with a hammer it's an electrical problem"

ESXTEZZ
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:46 pm
Location: Essex England
Contact:

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby ESXTEZZ » Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:14 pm

Standard healthy power should be around 160-165 whp that is on a dyno dynamics or mustang, it will read around 170-180 whp on a dynapack or similar hub dyno.
With flywheel figures below 180 bhp I think you need to start looking for issues.
We are talking about Manual Cars tho arnt we ?

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: Altezza's not producing power figures from Toyota?

Postby chewse » Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:44 pm

dont mean to thread jack but my friend took his to the dyno (tiptronic) highest recorded reading was about 120 in second...dyno operator said he couldnt get a proper reading cus the car would hold 3rd gear...my question what is the proper procedure to dyno a tiptronc rs200


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests