Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:14 pm

Mine works just fine with Torque.
Here is a live image (screenshot) of my phone using Torque.

Image

I chose these but I can customize to see whatever I want to see.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:13 pm

nice dashlayout...how many dashscreen do you have ...i have about 8 with 7-8 gauges per screen

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:58 pm

chewse wrote:nice dashlayout...how many dashscreen do you have ...i have about 8 with 7-8 gauges per screen

At the moment only that one but I will get a couple more configured soon.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:07 pm

This sounds so great, that I bought myself a mini ELM327 and TPro. :D
Will try this out very soon...hope I didn't buy a fake ELM adapter.

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:35 pm

Ok keep us updated please.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Wed Jul 16, 2014 5:37 pm

The first results. TPro connected to the adapter and ECU. However, al lot of data is not coming through:
- Revs
- Emissions DTC: O2, etc
So maybe I I didn't type in the string correctly.

Question: in the string in the 3rd and 5th codes, are thos zero's or O (number/letter)?

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:05 pm

They are zero's.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:56 pm

Hmmm, then I put in the string correctly.
All the LEDs on the adapter are flashing, I got com link with the ecu, can even see coolant temp and throttle position, but no Revs and all the other info.
Hope it's not the adapter, but I cannot think of anything else. Will try out some more tomorrow.

User avatar
mlcoolj
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:14 pm

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby mlcoolj » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:50 am

nnnoooooo!
Image

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:00 pm

d ecu is not compatible with a few of the features of torque pro...but revs should work..did u scan for faults?

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:29 pm

chewse wrote:..did u scan for faults?
Yes, but there was no output at all when I did that.

Just got from the highway, having the mini-ELM connected directly to the port under the steering wheel
(first had an extension cable in between). And now I seem to have some more info :D
So maybe the reader-TPro-ecu combination has a "self-learning" communication period :?:
I'll try the same dials setup as Choopz to see if all works like his.

Image Image

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:01 pm

Maybe d extension cable is your problem

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:21 am

Yes, that might be the case, so I connected it directly onto the port under the steering column and got even more info.
I put up some dials from Choopz his post to see if I get any data on those and I did! :D

Check out the try out on YT, not the best image quality, though (no camera stand):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_02xRNyh44k&list=UULvZTxdJCsYScSGgcQi50kQ

Haven't tried out fault reading or anything else, yet.
Will try it out with the extension cable again, now that I know that it works and will let you know.

User avatar
Leary
Noob!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:13 am
Location: North Island, New Zealand

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby Leary » Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:18 am

It worked perfect for me, thanks for the info I was just about ready to give up on it connecting but luckily found this post. :D


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest