ImageGreetings! Welcome to Tezzaworld website, unfortunately you are a few years late to the show as nearly everyone has been and gone, there is still lots of useful archived material to read through, not many active users unfortunately, but that’s the way it goes, hopefully you are not too disappointed...

How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:14 pm

Mine works just fine with Torque.
Here is a live image (screenshot) of my phone using Torque.

Image

I chose these but I can customize to see whatever I want to see.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:13 pm

nice dashlayout...how many dashscreen do you have ...i have about 8 with 7-8 gauges per screen

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:58 pm

chewse wrote:nice dashlayout...how many dashscreen do you have ...i have about 8 with 7-8 gauges per screen

At the moment only that one but I will get a couple more configured soon.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:07 pm

This sounds so great, that I bought myself a mini ELM327 and TPro. :D
Will try this out very soon...hope I didn't buy a fake ELM adapter.

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:35 pm

Ok keep us updated please.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Wed Jul 16, 2014 5:37 pm

The first results. TPro connected to the adapter and ECU. However, al lot of data is not coming through:
- Revs
- Emissions DTC: O2, etc
So maybe I I didn't type in the string correctly.

Question: in the string in the 3rd and 5th codes, are thos zero's or O (number/letter)?

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:05 pm

They are zero's.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:56 pm

Hmmm, then I put in the string correctly.
All the LEDs on the adapter are flashing, I got com link with the ecu, can even see coolant temp and throttle position, but no Revs and all the other info.
Hope it's not the adapter, but I cannot think of anything else. Will try out some more tomorrow.

User avatar
mlcoolj
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:14 pm

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby mlcoolj » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:50 am

nnnoooooo!
Image

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:00 pm

d ecu is not compatible with a few of the features of torque pro...but revs should work..did u scan for faults?

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Thu Jul 17, 2014 4:29 pm

chewse wrote:..did u scan for faults?
Yes, but there was no output at all when I did that.

Just got from the highway, having the mini-ELM connected directly to the port under the steering wheel
(first had an extension cable in between). And now I seem to have some more info :D
So maybe the reader-TPro-ecu combination has a "self-learning" communication period :?:
I'll try the same dials setup as Choopz to see if all works like his.

Image Image

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:01 pm

Maybe d extension cable is your problem

User avatar
j2jedi
Trc Off
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:17 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j2jedi » Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:21 am

Yes, that might be the case, so I connected it directly onto the port under the steering column and got even more info.
I put up some dials from Choopz his post to see if I get any data on those and I did! :D

Check out the try out on YT, not the best image quality, though (no camera stand):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_02xRNyh44k&list=UULvZTxdJCsYScSGgcQi50kQ

Haven't tried out fault reading or anything else, yet.
Will try it out with the extension cable again, now that I know that it works and will let you know.

User avatar
Leary
Noob!
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:13 am
Location: North Island, New Zealand

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby Leary » Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:18 am

It worked perfect for me, thanks for the info I was just about ready to give up on it connecting but luckily found this post. :D


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest