Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
oxide7
Trc On!
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:16 am

How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby oxide7 » Thu May 29, 2014 9:49 pm

A lot of talk about what will or wont work on these cars.
Figured I'd start a good thread with easy info.

Easiest and cheapest method available at the moment.

- Buy a bluetooth OBDII scanner off of amazon. This one can be had for $20USD. There are even cheaper ones. It doesn't matter much. If the chipset is the ELM327, it will work.

- Get the Torque App. $5USD. You can again use any bluetooth reading OBDII app, but this one is best on android.

- In whatever app you have there will be a setting for "Special ELM" settings. You need to enter these settings and save them.

Code: Select all

ATIB 96 \n ATIIA 13 \n ATSH8213F0 \n ATSP4 \n 0100

The codes do the following:
IB 96 -> Set to 9600 Baud
IIA 13 -> Set the init address
SH 8213F0 -> Set the header
SP4 0100 -> Set the protocol


- Plug in the adapter, turn the car on and enjoy. You'll get live sensor data and fault codes for under $30USD.


The other cheap common option is buying one of these and getting techstream. This one is self explanatory.

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Fri May 30, 2014 2:35 pm

Nice!
Thank you very much :wink:
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

corolla4agze
Trc Off
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:41 pm

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby corolla4agze » Fri May 30, 2014 3:13 pm

lets see how good that is! =)

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Fri May 30, 2014 3:25 pm

Good stuff.... also has anyone used the adapter with the vehicle running...how good are they at taking the heat?

oxide7
Trc On!
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:16 am

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby oxide7 » Sat May 31, 2014 1:03 am

corolla4agze wrote:lets see how good that is! =)
It works great. Torque looks good too and has a TON of options.

chewse wrote:Good stuff.... also has anyone used the adapter with the vehicle running...how good are they at taking the heat?
My plug is in an aluminum box with the ECU and fuses and it does fine. There are something like 5000ish reviews on amazon for these things with people keeping them plugged in for months. I plan to use it for all my gauges except RPM and fuel. Gonna use a tablet for it.

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Sun Jun 01, 2014 12:31 am

Great....im gonna get one

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Sat Jun 14, 2014 11:28 pm

This absolutely works great!!!
I followed oxide7's advice and bought the adapter he recommended together with the torque app
and set the string (Code: ATIB 96 \n ATIIA 13 \n ATSH8213F0 \n ATSP4 \n 0100) in the app and it works
great!!
Thank you once again oxide7 :wink:
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:17 am

Nice to know that it works for someone else....just waiting for my adapter to be delivered.....are the spaces included when entering the code?

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:52 pm

No you have to enter the spaces.
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

oxide7
Trc On!
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:16 am

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby oxide7 » Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:57 pm

choopz wrote:This absolutely works great!!!
I followed oxide7's advice and bought the adapter he recommended together with the torque app
and set the string (Code: ATIB 96 \n ATIIA 13 \n ATSH8213F0 \n ATSP4 \n 0100) in the app and it works
great!!
Thank you once again oxide7 :wink:



Awesome! Good to have independent confirmation from someone who's been on here longer than me.

Enjoy it. So many cool features in that app.

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:44 pm

Got my vgate scanner today entered the code like u said and it works like a charm....thx alot man......i even got a p0135 fault code and my cel never came on....by the way I'm using the torque app on my blackberry z10.........great stuff

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Fri Jun 27, 2014 7:11 pm

i've been doing some logging .....how do you guys make sense of all these numbers?.......what features are u guys logging?

User avatar
choopz
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 pm
Location: Aruba
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby choopz » Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:48 pm

I am very busy at work so didn't really play with it since.
Did you try and connect it to another car to check if it works?
I wonder if it can be used on multiple cars?
Image
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
chewse
Trc Off
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: Vieux-Fort, St.Lucia

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby chewse » Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:12 pm

I haven't tried on another vehicle yet but I'm guessing that it should work( might need a code for some vehicles) and that a new profile would have to be created for each vehicle

User avatar
j0hann3s
Noob!
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:07 am
Location: C:\Earth
Contact:

Re: How-To: Using OBDII Scan tool

Postby j0hann3s » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:36 am

I use nokia with windows platform, so no torque for me.

Beacause some here talk about techstream, I went curious...

I orded a Mini-VCi J2534 cable from ebay, wich works with techstream (software alsoo included with the cable).
ELM327 doesn't work! You realy need J2534

VCI Techstream Adapter Cable For TOYOTA
ebay link

This one is working great! I managed to read fault codes, able to change some settings like door light time and view live data.

The live data is only for few seconds a time, due the connector can't keep up all those sensors at the same time.

(clickable picture)
Image
wrsm


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron