ImageGreetings! Welcome to Tezzaworld website, unfortunately you are a few years late to the show as nearly everyone has been and gone, there is still lots of useful archived material to read through, not many active users unfortunately, but that’s the way it goes, hopefully you are not too disappointed...

Disabling the vvti!

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
Vanter
Noob!
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:54 pm

Disabling the vvti!

Postby Vanter » Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:14 pm

Hello there everyone. I'm looking for more useful information once again. The topic is simple...disabling the vvti.. How is this done? Doing it for turbo purposes.

Soiled
Altezza Guru
Posts: 705
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:35 pm

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby Soiled » Mon Nov 25, 2013 1:25 am

Are you going for some pretty extreme cams? Or just turboing? VVTi is very helpful for turbo applications if you can keep it do keep it.

If not, I'd assume just blocking the oil feed to the solenoid and disconnecting the wires, I'd suggest an adjustable cam pulley (like the one Toda makes) if you are doing this though.

User avatar
mike_01
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1768
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:32 pm
Location: Llanidloes

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby mike_01 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:34 am

why do you need to disable the vvti that's where most of the power comes from mid range disabling that would make the car feel very sluggish unless you are going for high profile cams but would better off getting cams which suit the vvti you'd get more benefit from going that way but if you need to as Soiled said unplug the vvti solenoid don't think I would block it off but if you remove the solenoid and make up a plate to go over the holes would be too hard

ESXTEZZ
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:46 pm
Location: Essex England
Contact:

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby ESXTEZZ » Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:50 pm

With the stock ecu the car wont run. You will have to go aftermarket ecu and swap cam gears.

Vanter
Noob!
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:54 pm

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby Vanter » Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:05 pm

I have an AEM EMS 4 i dont think it can control vvti.. would it be ok to tune all other aspects of the car and not trouble anything concerning the vvti?.. would the car run flawlessly without adjusting or tampering with the stock vvti setup?

User avatar
E910
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:47 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby E910 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:27 am

I'd be looking for another ECU that can control VVTi. Check out the new Link plug'n play for the SXE10

Vanter
Noob!
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:54 pm

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby Vanter » Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:55 am

where can i find one? Where do they sell?

User avatar
mlcoolj
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:14 pm

Re: Disabling the vvti!

Postby mlcoolj » Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:28 am

Image


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest