Page 1 of 1

Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:29 pm
by blacktoprs200
hi there i own an auto altezza and the engine has gone. i have 1 simple question to ask? will an engine from a manual altezza fit into my auto altezza? ive had many different answers so i just want someone to give me a straight answer??

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:26 pm
by ESXTEZZ
Yes

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:25 am
by NinjaPower
It will fit.

But... It's not that simple..

There is a lot of differences between the auto and manual engines, there is reasons why the manual engine makes more power than the auto.

I'm sure it'll be reasonable easy to fit the engine, your problem will be when it comes to pluging the loom in, some of the sensors and plugs etc may be different etc..
And the biggest potential issue may be how the ecu handles the different engines.

I don't doubt that it's possible to do, but it may not be quite as simple as it first seems.

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:33 pm
by daveo
you will have no problems . its a straight foreward changeover. everything hooks up the same. did one last week ...no issues :)

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:01 pm
by Newerakaye
its pretty much as straight forward as you can get, just have the right gear and tools at the ready and your away.

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:56 pm
by NinjaPower
daveo wrote:you will have no problems . its a straight foreward changeover. everything hooks up the same. did one last week ...no issues :)


How does it run? Does it over fuel? How much slower is it now?

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:52 am
by daveo
NinjaPower wrote:
daveo wrote:you will have no problems . its a straight foreward changeover. everything hooks up the same. did one last week ...no issues :)


How does it run? Does it over fuel? How much slower is it now?



it runs perfect and does not overfuel. runs a bit better even, me thinks ! :)
!!!

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:14 pm
by NinjaPower
daveo wrote: runs a bit better even


I remain sceptical of that.

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:51 pm
by daveo
NinjaPower wrote:It will fit.

But... It's not that simple..

There is a lot of differences between the auto and manual engines, there is reasons why the manual engine makes more power than the auto.

I'm sure it'll be reasonable easy to fit the engine, your problem will be when it comes to pluging the loom in, some of the sensors and plugs etc may be different etc..
And the biggest potential issue may be how the ecu handles the different engines.

I don't doubt that it's possible to do, but it may not be quite as simple as it first seems.



i have done it and tell the lad there is no problem. on the other hand you have not done it and give potential problems that might occur which none of i came across and you tell me your sceptical???? im quiet lost here

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:09 pm
by jfatboy
the auto makes less power i'm sure simply because of the box itself.

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:12 pm
by Lewis Altezza
Nah its not the box, I have a rs200 5AT E shift and standard toyota quotes are 200bhp opposed to the 210bhp manual version, the reason for lower output is slightly smaller inlet valves possibly exhaust too, I believe the cams are the same but the headers and inlet manifold are different to determine the torque characteristics.
I believe my AT goes ok, feels like a 200bhp car anyway...

Re: Engine from manual altezza fit into auto engine???

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:06 pm
by jfatboy
Lewis Altezza wrote:Nah its not the box, I have a rs200 5AT E shift and standard toyota quotes are 200bhp opposed to the 210bhp manual version, the reason for lower output is slightly smaller inlet valves possibly exhaust too, I believe the cams are the same but the headers and inlet manifold are different to determine the torque characteristics.
I believe my AT goes ok, feels like a 200bhp car anyway...

didnt know this! would an autos map be diffrent aswell? working in tune with the box?