Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

How to swap auto to manual

Post info/questions on engine mods and issues here
xeraptor
Trc Off
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:06 pm

How to swap auto to manual

Postby xeraptor » Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:21 pm

Just wanted to share my gearbox swap experience.

We didn't take any pictures, but followed procedure described on http://altezza-club.ru/
Linked pictures from there (Thanks Vakidzashi!)

Mechanical:
1) Take out selector cover
Image
2) Take out screws under the cover and inside elbow rest.
Image
Image
3) Unscrew the selector.
4) Disconnect stud and throw selector away.
Image
5) Remove exhaust down and middle pipes.
Image
Image
6) Unscrew drive shaft from the diff and the mount.
Image
Image
7) Drain the auto tranny and pull out the drive shaft
Image
8) Take out starter and unscrew auto flywheel from torque converter.
Image
9) Unscrew all engine-tranny bolts and pull the tranny out.
10) Unscrew auto flywheel. Fix it in place to avoid damaging oil pump.
Image
11) Bolt on manual flywheel (107nm torque)
Image
12) Install clutch.
Image
13) Cut shifter window forward until bolt holes
Image
14) Install release bearing and fork
Image
15) Install gearbox
Image
16) Drill holes for clutch cylinder
Image
17) Install master cylinder
Image
18) Install clutch pedal and manual brake pedal.
19) Connect slave cylinder, fill with brake fluid and pump the air out.
Electrical:
1) Install MT ECU. Facelift (02-05) Altezza will require old coilpacks if non-facelift ECU is used.
I put in Power FC as I have turbo in plans.
2) Cut 9-pin connector from auto tranny.
Join black and black-white wires to start the car.
Image
3) Use pink and pink-orange wires for rear light sensor.
Image
5) Connect speed sensor using wires from middle 17-pin connector. Without it car will be sluggish.
Image
Image

Problems:
As driveshaft tunnel has different shape on manual we will need to fabricate some kind of metal cover to bolt on shifter rubber seals. Probably will ask breakers to cut piece out the tunnel from manual chassis and weld in on my tunnel. Shouldn't be too hard.
Image

Dylbo59
Noob!
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:44 am

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby Dylbo59 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:14 am

Thanks heaps for this post! Um could you explain the last bit of wireing for the speed sencer a bit more? I dont fully understand and dont wana cut the wrong wires thanks!

xeraptor
Trc Off
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby xeraptor » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:52 pm

OK.

To connect the speed sensor you need:
1) Connect signal wire. Sensor Plug (SP) #3 <-> ECU plug D #19
2) Splice power 5V wire. Sensor Plug (SP) #1 <-> ECU plug E #16
3) Splice ground wire. Sensor Plug (SP) #2 <-> ECU plug B #17

I cut ECU plug C off and used its wires for connecting speed sensor instead of running new wires.

PS. OEM flywheel bolt P/N - 90105-12312

Dylbo59
Noob!
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:44 am

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby Dylbo59 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:52 am

Do you know if you have to rewire o2 sensors ?? as i got a manual exhaust and they only have one and my auto had two ?

User avatar
SilTezza
Altezza Guru
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby SilTezza » Tue Jan 06, 2015 2:16 pm

wow.. that interesting..

xeraptor
Trc Off
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby xeraptor » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:04 pm

Dylbo59 wrote:Do you know if you have to rewire o2 sensors ?? as i got a manual exhaust and they only have one and my auto had two ?


Are you using manual or auto ecu?
If manual - it's a bit tricky, I had to sit down with a multimeter to figure out which wires go where as they are pinout is different from auto. Need to have a look at my setup to remember.
If auto ecu - just make 2nd bung on the downpipe.

Dylbo59
Noob!
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:44 am

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby Dylbo59 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:49 am

Iv put in a manual ecu, iv got the means to sort the wiring? just dunno what to do!

if you could help that would be great:)

Dylbo59
Noob!
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:44 am

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby Dylbo59 » Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:08 am

Are you using manual or auto ecu?
If manual - it's a bit tricky, I had to sit down with a multimeter to figure out which wires go where as they are pinout is different from auto. Need to have a look at my setup to remember.
If auto ecu - just make 2nd bung on the downpipe.[/quote]


Iv put in a manual ecu... just dunno how to wire it up

if you could help that would be great:)

User avatar
G-TECroscommon
Altezza Guru
Posts: 754
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Roscommon
Contact:

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby G-TECroscommon » Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:40 pm

this is a really helpful thread, makes the job look very very easy :D
Image

KevinV
Noob!
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby KevinV » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:22 pm

First of all: thanks for the great write-up

I am doing an beams swap in a corolla Ke70 rallycar.
Engine is from an Auto-altezza
I have already an Manual-ECU to install on the Engine.
Only one problem, we have installed an Quaife race gearbox instead of the altezza 6-speed gearbox, (so no speed sensor installed)

So i have no signal to input on D19 of the ecu.
(Whitout this signal the engine will not work as it should have to? )

So my question is:
can i perhaps simulate this signal?
Can i use a signal from another sensor and splice this signal to the D19 ecu-pin?

Hope someone can give me advise on this

Escy
Noob!
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:22 pm

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby Escy » Sat Oct 03, 2015 9:00 pm

xeraptor wrote:To connect the speed sensor you need:
1) Connect signal wire. Sensor Plug (SP) #3 <-> ECU plug D #19
2) Splice power 5V wire. Sensor Plug (SP) #1 <-> ECU plug E #16
3) Splice ground wire. Sensor Plug (SP) #2 <-> ECU plug B #17


I've just done my swap and i'm having problems with this. My car has thrown P500 - vehicle speed sensor

I've got back under and checked my wiring. It seems fine. At idle I get 0.20v at the speed sensor plug 3 and at the D19 ECU plug. I saw someone else mention 0.20v so I assume that's correct. Sensor plug 2 is an earth that's been checked for continuity to the chassis and it's fine also. The only possible is Sensor plug 1 which is power. I've spliced into the same 12v feed as i'm using for the reverse switch (which works). This was mentioned on a guide on a New Zealand based forum. I notice here you've described it as a 5v power feed. Is giving it 12v my problem? I checked ECU plug E #16 and it's not a 5v feed on my car

Escy
Noob!
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:22 pm

Re: How to swap auto to manual

Postby Escy » Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:29 pm

Ignore my last post. The other guide on a different forum is wrong, they've got arrows pointing to the wires but it's upside down and they are pointing to the wrong wires. All sorted now


Return to “Engine & Transmission section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest