Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

stopper motor

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
marc
Noob!
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: portlaoise

stopper motor

Postby marc » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:16 pm

hey just wondering if anyone has had trouble wit there stopper motor. Its got to do wit the idle in the car once mine is ticking over it will start reving up an down 2 or 3 times and then stall.i was told it needs to be reset but no body seems to have the computer program to do it and puttin a second hand one needs to be set up to my car too just wondering if any of ye have had tis problem cheers

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Re: stopper motor

Postby Evelyn » Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:21 pm

Do you mean stepper motor/idle motor?
http://www.toyodiy.com/parts/p_J_2003_T ... _2211.html
Not sure if thats what they look like in the tezza Nick might confirm that
Image

marc
Noob!
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: portlaoise

Re: stopper motor

Postby marc » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:06 am

ye tat the one

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Re: stopper motor

Postby Evelyn » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:13 am

Jes lad sorry dont know how to set them...Didnt think you had to tell the car it has new one if you fitted a new one..Its usually the seals in them that f*ck up so they idle/pumping at a longer range. Have you tryed a 2nd hand one?
Image

marc
Noob!
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: portlaoise

Re: stopper motor

Postby marc » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:52 pm

no haven tried one going to doh cause wen it not cutting out it tickin over between 1500 to 2000rpm

User avatar
Abaddon
Trc On!
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: London c/o Sydney

Re: stopper motor

Postby Abaddon » Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:23 am

Thats the throttle body... on the altezza its half mechanical and half electrical (drive by wire)... the electrical part is the first 50% or so of movement. They do it like that so the ECU can control the idle and back off the throttle for the traction control etc. The mechanical part is so if the motor in the unit dies you can still drive the car.

Firstly take off the intake and clean the blade with some carb cleaner and a rag. You can push it open by hand enough to clean the back sides. They get sticky from oil from the PCV and it affects the idle. Be careful not to lose anything in there that might get sucked into the engine!

Also check the adjustment screws on the side of the unit... they are factory calibrated and marked with yellow paint. Quite often mechanics fiddle with them trying to fix unrelated idling problems and it totally screws up the idle and causes flat spots.

Whist you at it clean the MAF and check the vacuum hoses are all connected and not damaged etc.

good luck!


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests