Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

My tezza wont start

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
User avatar
Bubbles-Tezza
Noob!
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 9:51 am
Location: donegal

My tezza wont start

Postby Bubbles-Tezza » Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:58 pm

My tezza wont start. the engine is turning over but no kick.
There is petrol in it b4 any1 says that!!
Any suggestions what it could be??
Bubbles-Tezza

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby Dan » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:05 pm

did you check the plugs and coilpacks? check the volts coming out of the battery?

User avatar
Richie_c
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby Richie_c » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:39 pm

Dan wrote:did you check the plugs and coilpacks? check the volts coming out of the battery?


Sure if its turning over it aint the battery

Starter motor? give it a smack of a hammer (obviously not too hard though :lol: )
300 rwhp thanks to
Image

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby Dan » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:47 pm

well if your battery isnt giving out enough volts Richie it might not start! no harm in checking, that was the problem with mine not starting a while back

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby Evelyn » Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:08 pm

If you have checked the opvious, battery, starter e.t.c. have you a factory fit alarm?
Image

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby KaTaLy5t » Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:21 pm

As the lads and Ev said, check the battery voltage, check the plugs and coilpacks, the starter motor and it might be no harm to make sure the petrol is actually getting to the engine as well. Just cause it's in the tank doesn't mean it'll get to the engine.

If you have a alarm check that to see if that's stopping it.

By the way you need to check the battery with a multimeter not the one on the dash of the car, that's not accurate enough. Anything below 12 volts and the car will struggle to start.

User avatar
Richie_c
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1744
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby Richie_c » Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:23 pm

Dan wrote:well if your battery isnt giving out enough volts Richie it might not start! no harm in checking, that was the problem with mine not starting a while back


Very true no harm sticking the multi-meter on it
300 rwhp thanks to
Image

lanigan
Midlands Rep
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:03 pm
Location: Galway

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby lanigan » Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:47 pm

If its turning over then youre battery and starter should be fine, provided its not turning over slowly that is....

Id say there is a sensor or something acting up, pull a coil pack and see if it has spark, could even be the ecu..

Did you do anything to the car recently? Wash the engine bay or anything like that?

User avatar
skuzzy
Galway Rep
Posts: 621
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:07 am
Location: galway

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby skuzzy » Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:55 pm

has it been parked up for a few days without startin it
GALWAY REP

Image

User avatar
dlocko
Altezza Guru
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Dublin

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby dlocko » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:31 pm

lads i have a little thing attached to my key,i presume you all have it also,its like a fob,if i dont have that beside the key or in the car,mine wouldnt start,i cant remember if it will turn over or not without it though?
anyone shed any light on that fob.is it something to do with the imob!
Image

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby KaTaLy5t » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm

Altezzas didn't come with a factory fitted alarm or immobiliser so it must be aftermarket. Nobody else I know has any other fob with their keys.

User avatar
dlocko
Altezza Guru
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Dublin

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby dlocko » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:59 pm

this seriously looks factory man,the factory spare key has one too
Image

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby Evelyn » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:02 pm

Id say it is a factory fit alarm....
Image

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby KaTaLy5t » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:12 pm

I thought some one said before that tezzas didn't have factory fit alarms? I've never heard of one before.

You must be the only one in the country with one..

I bet you feel special now :D :D

User avatar
dlocko
Altezza Guru
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:05 am
Location: Dublin

Re: My tezza wont start

Postby dlocko » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:13 pm

it is connected to the horn and buzzes for about ten secs if you open the door with the key and dont unlock it with the button then it goes off with the horn
Image


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest