Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Drain Plug for Sump?

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
User avatar
Orido
Trc Off
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:47 pm
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Drain Plug for Sump?

Postby Orido » Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:48 pm

hey i noticed my sump drain plug bolt in bad shape when i changed the oil....does anyone know the part numbers for the bolt and the washer? :roll:

Its for an SXE-10 .....3S-GE motor....

btw does the 1GFE use the same ?

thanks again guys

User avatar
Dizz
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:52 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Drain Plug for Sump?

Postby Dizz » Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:33 pm

Orido wrote:hey i noticed my sump drain plug bolt in bad shape when i changed the oil....does anyone know the part numbers for the bolt and the washer? :roll:

Its for an SXE-10 .....3S-GE motor....

btw does the 1GFE use the same ?

thanks again guys


In general manufacturers tend to use the same sump bolt through out their range. I wouldn't be 100% though. Do you not have a Toyota/Lexus dealer near you? With your model and frame numbers they should be able to look it up for you ;)

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:45 pm

You might as well get yourself a magentised sump plug while you are at it. You can get them on eBay.

User avatar
Orido
Trc Off
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:47 pm
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Orido » Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:37 pm

Yes there is a dealer here but i called like 3 times an on every occasion they had me waitin on the phone like really long ......

thats y i said i'll get the part number myself from u guys an just order it myself and save me the trouble...

User avatar
Tezzy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:06 pm
Location: Waterford

Postby Tezzy » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:44 am

are the plugs not magnetic as standard? mine is magnetic anyway must've been the last guy put it in.

so is the diff plug are they magnetic as standard?

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:31 pm

Tezzy wrote:are the plugs not magnetic as standard? mine is magnetic anyway must've been the last guy put it in.

so is the diff plug are they magnetic as standard?


Nope. The car came with a magnetic one, then I left it in to a Toyota garage to get serviced. The next time I changed the oil myself I found the thieving so-and-sos swapped it for a regular one! Ok, maybe they got them mixed up, but I had to go and buy a new one!

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:37 pm

Rob wrote:Ok, maybe they got them mixed up, but I had to go and buy a new one!


I don't think they'd have 2 tezzas side by side and just happen to mix them up :?

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:55 pm

KaTaLy5t wrote:I don't think they'd have 2 tezzas side by side and just happen to mix them up :?


Nah, most Lexuses (sp?) share the same drain plug.

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:02 pm

Interesting how Mr. Toyota San saved himself a load of money by making the sump plug the same for all those engines

lanigan
Midlands Rep
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:03 pm
Location: Galway

Postby lanigan » Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:05 pm

KaTaLy5t wrote:Interesting how Mr. Toyota San saved himself a load of money by making the sump plug the same for all those engines


Mr Toyota saved himself a lot of money doing little things like that on production lines, its the one company in the world that every other manufacturer tries to be like for efficiency, based my college thesis on it Lean Manufacturing its known as, not very interesting though :roll:

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:41 pm

It makes sense though just to have the one part for loads of different engines. Imagine the order for them.

"I'll have 1 million sump plugs and a flied lice please"

User avatar
alimac
Trc Off
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:04 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Postby alimac » Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:09 am

Rob wrote:
KaTaLy5t wrote:I don't think they'd have 2 tezzas side by side and just happen to mix them up :?


Nah, most Lexuses (sp?) share the same drain plug.


Does that mean there can only be oil in one at any given time?
98 RS200z 6MT

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:32 am

alimac wrote:Does that mean there can only be oil in one at any given time?


:lol: Yeah, my turn doesn't come up again until 2015..

lanigan
Midlands Rep
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:03 pm
Location: Galway

Postby lanigan » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:41 pm

Rob wrote:
alimac wrote:Does that mean there can only be oil in one at any given time?


:lol: Yeah, my turn doesn't come up again until 2015..

:lol: :lol:


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests