Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

starter motor

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
User avatar
anto
Dublin Rep
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: dublin

starter motor

Postby anto » Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:37 pm

i think my starter motor is broke

car was acting up would start so i got a new battery on friday

still the same

anyone have the code for one and how much

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:41 pm

You might get it re-conditioned by some one?

User avatar
anto
Dublin Rep
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: dublin

Postby anto » Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:46 pm

KaTaLy5t wrote:You might get it re-conditioned by some one?


do you know how much it would be and how long it would take

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:07 pm

I'm not really sure to be honest. It would depend on what's wrong with it. It might only need new brushes so that would be handy enough or if it needs to be re-wound it might take a while. I've never got a starter motor re-done so I wouldn't really know how mush it'd be but I'm sure some one will be able to tell you.

If you think you can wait a while for a new motor you could try Nick on here from NZ. He works for Toyota over there and is able to post the stuff over for a fraction of what you'd pay for them here.

What exactly is it doing or not doing?

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:12 pm

I've searched a few other boards and these names have popped up a couple of times:

Myles Balfe Ltd
24 Phibsboro rd
Dublin 7
01 8307544

Myles Balfe Ltd
Red Cow
Naas rd
Clondalkin
01 4592676

Might be worth giving them a shout in the morning. From what I've read it seems that the best way to do it is to get the motor out yourself(if you can) and then bring it to some one.

Prices can be from €90-€180 by the looks of it.

User avatar
markrs200
Limerick Rep
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:45 pm
Location: countylimerick

Postby markrs200 » Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:41 pm

dont get a new one that would be madness all it needs is a recon it should only cost around 100 yoyos that would be for a full recon
02 rs200.full trd kit, 18 inch ultralite gt2,toms spoiler,cusco H braces front and rear,cusco front strut brace,stoptect front discs&pads,full hks exhaust& decat,hks pannel filter,ngk irridiumplugs,hid kit ,toms eye brows,jdm front lights with angel eyes,trd decals on doors,leather interior,apexi rsm,lg dvd,sat nav,trd fioor mats ,fast road clutch +lightened flywheel lowerned 40mm,falcon evo 4+ alarm trd rad +oil cap Cusco front & rear arb's 201.6 bhp+211 torque

User avatar
anto
Dublin Rep
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: dublin

Postby anto » Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:58 pm

markrs200 wrote:dont get a new one that would be madness all it needs is a recon it should only cost around 100 yoyos that would be for a full recon


are they hard to take out of the car

or would any of the places have one in stock

+ are they the same as in the is200

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:56 pm

I wouldn't think it's the same as the IS200 cause it's a different engine.

User avatar
anto
Dublin Rep
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: dublin

Postby anto » Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:13 pm

can anyone get me a part number

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Tue Dec 09, 2008 9:21 pm

Drop Nick a PM, he works for Toyota in NZ. He'd tell ya quick enough. Did ya look into getting it reconditioned?

User avatar
anto
Dublin Rep
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:31 pm
Location: dublin

Postby anto » Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:23 am

KaTaLy5t wrote:Drop Nick a PM, he works for Toyota in NZ. He'd tell ya quick enough. Did ya look into getting it reconditioned?
going to get the code and see if they have one so i can just change it over if not ill just get it taking out and get it done

User avatar
williek
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: galway

Postby williek » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:30 am

i heading to toyota today with the brushes to look for them mine were f***!
keep diffin till the tyres are missing!

Howya Seargent I mean Garda!!

www.tyreshop.ie

Image

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:50 am

williek wrote:i heading to toyota today with the brushes to look for them mine were f***!


U have a text there someone in galway that can reconditioned the starter for u...
Image

User avatar
Dizz
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:52 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Postby Dizz » Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:45 pm

Anto just get onto who ever your nearest Toyota/Lexus garage is with your model & frame number off the plate in your engine bay. It's reconditioning you should be looking at though, not a new one. We never replace starters in work really, only if they go off to get reconditioned and are beyond repair...


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest