Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Broken Fuel Gauge

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
User avatar
P1SVH
Noob!
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:22 am
Location: FIFE, SCOTLAND

Broken Fuel Gauge

Postby P1SVH » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:19 pm

HI All

Just filled the tank up, but my feul gauge is saying that my tank is empty. Anybody know how to rectify this problem.
:roll:

Many Thanks

User avatar
3S-GE
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:15 am
Location: navan, co.meath
Contact:

Postby 3S-GE » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:28 pm

most likely the fuel sender unit in the tank..
BEAMS: Breakthrough Engine with Advanced Mechanism System.

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:33 pm

is there a fuel float in the tank?
Image

User avatar
P1SVH
Noob!
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:22 am
Location: FIFE, SCOTLAND

Postby P1SVH » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:56 pm

Evelyn wrote:is there a fuel float in the tank?


I have noticed this before when filling, but I have not checked if it was there on this occasion. I will need to check in the morning.

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:38 pm

No the float would be in the tank in the car I presume u access it under the rear seat, not sure of the set up with tez, dont laugh but it works on the same principle of the float that u see in a water tank or toilet at home.....
Image

User avatar
rnd_audio
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: kildare/ newbridge
Contact:

fuel gauge

Postby rnd_audio » Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:49 pm

if you fill it up with the engine running it wont register till the next time you fill up, dont ask me why, happened my mate
Image

Tyres are evil and must be punished :)

User avatar
shakey
Altezza Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: tarbert co.kerry ireland
Contact:

Postby shakey » Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:50 pm

always fill mine when its runnin and i never had a problem with the gauge

User avatar
james1485
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: N. Ireland

Postby james1485 » Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:30 pm

shakey wrote:always fill mine when its runnin and i never had a problem with the gauge


X2 ive done it and still said full.

User avatar
alimac
Trc Off
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:04 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Postby alimac » Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:14 am

98 RS200z 6MT

tezzadrifter
Trc On!
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Clare/Galway
Contact:

Postby tezzadrifter » Sat Nov 29, 2008 4:04 am

i have never had that problem now

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:26 am

shakey wrote:always fill mine when its runnin and i never had a problem with the gauge


I think what he meant was if u fill it running 1wk, then fill the car not running the next wk u might have a problem, I wouldnt fill my car running, id say u would get a better reading when the engine is off
Image

User avatar
Noel
Moderator
Posts: 3726
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: oldville

Postby Noel » Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:21 pm

A couple of times mine has taken a few minutes to register that it's been filled... :? hopefully not the sign of things to come... :(

User avatar
Tezzy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:06 pm
Location: Waterford

Postby Tezzy » Sat Nov 29, 2008 3:48 pm

once when i was running on vapours before i filled it (car took 59.4 litres) it took 4 or 5 miles before the guage moved up. give it a while and see if it fixes itself

Rob
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Rob » Sat Nov 29, 2008 3:52 pm

When the instrument cluster wasn't getting a signal on mine, the fuel gauge stayed at zero and then the fuel warning light started flashing quickly. The problem was a loose connector.

seanf
Trc Off
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: laois

Postby seanf » Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:59 pm

hey lads said id hop in the fuel float is fully attached to your fuel pump on the car as i have had to replace mine ............... and its a pain to get out the tank will have to dropped
if d cross is empty.....give 'er plenty


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest