Page 1 of 1

Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:32 pm
by wa_story
I have imported an Altezza from R.O.I and I am filling out the V55/5.
The form asks for a Certificate of Conformity to fill in the necessary details.
As the car is Japanese, Toyota(UK) cannot issue me one as it wasn't built for the European market.

Can someone who has registered theirs in the UK give me some advice.

Also did you have to change the spedo to miles per hour???

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:59 pm
by ThatGuy
I don't know about the registering the car part but I wouldn't of thought you'd have to change the speedo as when there imported from Japan the stay in kph. Maybe ask on driftworks, the guys on there usually have most if not all the answers you'll need on importing cars from anywhere :)

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 8:19 am
by wa_story
Cheers, i'll try driftworks

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 4:20 pm
by hermit
You need to mot the car first using the chassis number because you don't have a uk reg.then you bring the car to a dvla office (think it might be in Wimbledon) for them to check it. The issue you a reg and you tax it then. You will have to get it converted to mph if I remeber correct.

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:09 am
by wa_story
Thanks, I found out that i'll have to go for an IVA inspection and change it over to mph.
Did Toyota ever issue a spedo with mph.

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:46 pm
by hermit
wa_story wrote:Thanks, I found out that i'll have to go for an IVA inspection and change it over to mph.
Did Toyota ever issue a spedo with mph.

You just get a little electronic converter box fitted in behind the dash clocks, it's a small black box and that will turn it from kph to mph. There was one fitted in mine when I got the car and works a treat

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 6:36 am
by wa_story
Here is the chip that converts the speedo.

http://www.svaspeedos.co.uk/

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:54 pm
by wa_story
So I have registered the car.
It was a lot easier than what information I was previously given.

Just fill out the V55/5, get it MOT'd and submit it to the DVLA along with proof of address & original log book.

No need for an IVA inspection or Mutual recognition as the car is over 10 years old.

I must of spoken to a moron over the phone originally.

Re: Registering your Altezza in the UK

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:25 pm
by davemx-5
Nice one! I'll be doing the same thing in the near future!

Get some pics up of the car now!ha