Page 1 of 2

milage frozen

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:26 pm
by moomoo
the day I bought the car it had 69969km on the clock and the other morning I noticed it was at the same. the other 2 milage counters (not sure of their proper names) are working perfectly and the main milage counter was working the day I test drove it so Im thinking something happened when they were servicing it or getting it ready.

Anyway does anyone know is it something simple like a blown fuse or disconnected wire?

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:49 pm
by Richie_c
How long have you had it?? If you only got it recently bring it back to the garage and let them worry about it

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:00 pm
by moomoo
I got it last wednesday, its just the hassle of bringing it up to dublin and then theyll probably want to keep it over night or something

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:02 pm
by Richie_c
Ah I see your problem, not to sure how to get it sorted but I'm sure someone will

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:22 pm
by Dan
Maybe remove the speedo cluster and see if the wires are connected properly


Where did u buy it if you don't mind me asking?

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:23 pm
by moomoo
Dan wrote:where did u buy it? Myabe remove the speedo cluster and see if the wires are connected properly


Where did u buy it if you dont mind me asking?


trade sales ireland up in dublin near lusk. they used to be in ballbriggan

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:28 pm
by altezzaboy
big mistake i think there affilated to jap cars dublin just a different tradin name i see some of the cars from jap cars where for sale by them aswell

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:13 pm
by Dizz
Sounds to me like it's been clocked & they've messed something up...

I hate garages! So hard to find any reliable ones who you can trust!

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:49 pm
by elexes
Dizz wrote:Sounds to me like it's been clocked & they've messed something up...

I hate garages! So hard to find any reliable ones who you can trust!


id say the same . that or else your spedo isnt working correctly at all

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:10 pm
by Richie_c
altezzaboy wrote:big mistake i think there affilated to jap cars dublin just a different tradin name i see some of the cars from jap cars where for sale by them aswell


Yeah as far as I know they're the same, think they use another name as well

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:53 pm
by Robin H
does your car have any sort of a speed de-limiter fitted to it ?????

if not I would be interesting to see if your car can go above 180kmph

the only reason I say this is I have the same problem on my Altezza (it's been like this for years just modifying has gotten in the way of me fixing it lol ) and I know that my car goes way over what it's limited to and I have nothing fitted to mine as far as I know ( the car had this problem when I brought it )
I've been wondering for some time know if there's away they can frig it through the clock so the speed limiter doesn't work,

As for the garage clocking it I can't see why they would do that after the car has been sold and the new owner seeing the working clock read out

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:59 pm
by moomoo
I heard Jap Cars used to import car using a company called Paragon which trade sales ireland now own (or claim to own) but I didnt think they had any dealings with one another now.
Grove cars sales in craughwell (galway) get there cars from Jap Cars and I heard a lot of garages in Dublin do to, so is it really possible to get a genuine one? The milage on the cars advertised on carzone seems to be always between 40000-50000km (kinda suspicious)
Anyway a lad doing electronic engineering said he'll have a look on saturday.

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:06 pm
by moomoo
Robin H wrote:does your car have any sort of a speed de-limiter fitted to it ?????

if not I would be interesting to see if your car can go above 180kmph

the only reason I say this is I have the same problem on my Altezza (it's been like this for years just modifying has gotten in the way of me fixing it lol ) and I know that my car goes way over what it's limited to and I have nothing fitted to mine as far as I know ( the car had this problem when I brought it )
I've been wondering for some time know if there's away they can frig it through the clock so the speed limiter doesn't work,

As for the garage clocking it I can't see why they would do that after the car has been sold and the new owner seeing the working clock read out


I haven't tried doing 180kmph yet, but the engine is fairly modified and has a sports clutch, 4pt harnesses etc. so I wondering was it being used on a track in japan so it could be de-limited

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:07 pm
by Robin H
did you not say it was working when you test drove it ?????

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:08 pm
by moomoo
Robin H wrote:did you not say it was working when you test drove it ?????

yeah