Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Any problems with your Altezza, post questions here
Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:42 pm

Lads,
Have the SR20DET engine in but trying to get the Altezza speedo to work. Does anyone know how to get the SR20 sensor to to work with the original altezza clocks??

The mechanic who is working on it has done this conversion a few times before but only with the Qualitat model so i know the dials are different but is the loom different also??

Anyone have wiring diagrams for the Altezza??

I don not want to use aftermarket digital dash like STACK or AIM so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks again

Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:03 pm

Bump - Anyone have any suggestions, solutions or alternatives???

sparkystav
Trc Off
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:41 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby sparkystav » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:22 pm

No difference in the wiring mate, it will work
Image

User avatar
Damok
Moderator
Posts: 5111
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:08 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Damok » Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:34 pm

As above, No difference. I had the Qualitat dials in my standard rs200 and they worked perfect no problems :wink:
Newbie click the link, $ $ $ $ $
http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting

User avatar
a2pen
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 6:50 pm
Location: dorset uk

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby a2pen » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:39 pm

So called is200 or autos run speedo through abs but that was something I read

Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:50 pm

Not using the Altezza VSS. It has the SR20 box and VSS in so im trying to use the Nissan VSS with the Altezza dials???? Disaster

Any ideas???

User avatar
a2pen
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 6:50 pm
Location: dorset uk

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby a2pen » Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:22 pm

Post up a pic of the speed sensor and I'll send it to my sparky because we was going to make a adjustable speed sensor for mine but didn't need it

Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:51 pm

There are 2 types - 1) Aluminium housing 2) Black plastic housing. Mine is the second type. I can't get a picture straight away as its at the mechanics but there are loads of pics on the internet of the black type. Thanks again for the input.

Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Sat Jul 06, 2013 4:41 pm

Still can't get this speedo working!! Does anyone know how it is wired originally?? I think it comes from wheel speed sensors into abs ecu from there to main ecu and an output from there to the speedo??
I'm thinking of using the Tezza ecu purely to get the speedo working??
Any other ideas?? Thanks

fudder
Trc On!
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby fudder » Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:14 pm

im new to this but ill try help the vss in the altezza is wired the same as the s15 i think
dont think the speedo has anything to do with the abs
just the differential
try looking into 5 speed conversions on the s 15 this effectively is what your trying to do your trying to get a speedo signal from the gearbox instead of the differential


id hook up an cheap aftermarket speedo gauge to you sr20 setup and see if you have a reading
then try to wire this gauge into the altezza loom

Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:19 pm

Thanks for the info. If the Tezza speed comes from the diff then I should be able to use this through the Tezza ecu?? Ill check out the 5 speed conversion on the s15. I did try a Dakota digital box to convert the signal but it does not seem to work. It's a pain tryin to get this going!!!!!

daveo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:44 am

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby daveo » Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:55 am

can remember this issue coming up somewhere on drift ireland and they got it sorted. maybe worth having a look there

Road Runner
Noob!
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby Road Runner » Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:10 am

No probs thank you ill take a look there also. I know Martin French got the speedo working in the first conversion he did. Does anyone have a number for him?? Cheers

daveo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:44 am

Re: NEED HELP-Speedo for SR20 Conversion

Postby daveo » Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:55 pm

ill pm ya a number for a fella there


Return to “Problems with your Altezza”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron