Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

02 Broadband anyone have it?

Anything not related to cars
User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

02 Broadband anyone have it?

Postby Evelyn » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:13 pm

I am thinking of getting broadband were are currently living, were only in rented accommodation & we might be moving again so I dont want to put in a permanent fixture. I am in the town so my coverage is good does anyone else have this?

User avatar
elexes
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:20 am
Location: Tullamore , Offaly

Postby elexes » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:21 pm

very simple .

all mobile broadband services are sugar.

vodaphone are probably the best one to go with presently due to the fact that they do spend the most money on infrastructure. if your in a 3g aera you should have a " ok " internet connection. slightly faster then 56k/64k isdn dial up but not as good as dsl.

i use it on tuesday nights to check mail and some forums. but if any large pictures are displayed i have probloms with the connection . it may time out. if i try to download even the smallest file the connection could time out. its very iffy.

i know a few people who were given the 02 modem for free to test for the first month but returned it due to the crappy coverage they get in there house. (eg. worked fine in the bathroom but not in the kitchen )

dont get the 3 one its pure sugar

see if any of your friends have one and try it out first
if ive helped you in anyway vote for carlow to be the first tezzaworld drinking session

User avatar
williek
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: galway

Postby williek » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:36 pm

have the o2 one and it s@3! but i live in the bog, good enough using it around town in the car but not great
keep diffin till the tyres are missing!

Howya Seargent I mean Garda!!

www.tyreshop.ie

Image

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:58 pm

Ya I am on vodafone on the phone & the 3G coverage is good, brother has 02 & his 3G coverage is good aswell in town. I heard that 3 is worked off the vodafone signal not sure?

User avatar
elexes
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:20 am
Location: Tullamore , Offaly

Postby elexes » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:35 pm

ye but they dont give priority the 3 users
if ive helped you in anyway vote for carlow to be the first tezzaworld drinking session

lanigan
Midlands Rep
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:03 pm
Location: Galway

Postby lanigan » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:41 pm

I have vodafone and its absolute muck!

Only reason i have it is because i live in the land that technology forgot, only one company providing broadband but its also wireless, unreliable and expensive.

Main prob i find with it is the 5GB download limit, the fact that it is constantly dropping signal (everytime i try and buy/book something), speeds are sugar (if you go online at 4am maybe speeds would be better because there wouldnt be many people using it), all in all its crap

BUT after saying all that its better than dial up when you dont have much of a choice :roll:

User avatar
patk
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:59 pm
Location: Co. Clare, Ireland

Postby patk » Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:38 pm

iv mobile o2 broadband. nice and fast. neighbour has vodafone and its crap. im in the middle of nowhere. depends where you live.

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:21 pm

Is it basically the same speed as using it on you mobile?

User avatar
KaTaLy5t
Altezza Guru
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:08 pm
Location: Wexford

Postby KaTaLy5t » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:18 pm

Just like elexes said. Alll mobile broadband is crap unless your close to a town/city and that kind of thing.

User avatar
elexes
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:20 am
Location: Tullamore , Offaly

Postby elexes » Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:53 pm

Evelyn wrote:Is it basically the same speed as using it on you mobile?


if your phone is made for 3g then yep same
if ive helped you in anyway vote for carlow to be the first tezzaworld drinking session

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:52 am

elexes wrote:
Evelyn wrote:Is it basically the same speed as using it on you mobile?


if your phone is made for 3g then yep same


Well if it the same as that it hit & miss dont think I will bother...

User avatar
Miss S15
Trc On!
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:32 pm
Location: Tipperary
Contact:

Postby Miss S15 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:11 am

I have 02 and its great
Image

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Postby Evelyn » Tue Oct 21, 2008 12:50 pm

Miss S15 wrote:I have 02 and its great


Are u in a area where the signal is always good.....

User avatar
d2carazy
Clare rep
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Contact:

Postby d2carazy » Tue Oct 21, 2008 3:56 pm

eg. worked fine in the bathroom but not in the kitchen )


what do u be doin with a computer in the jacks, i wonder :lol: :lol: :lol:

as said above the mobile broadband all depends on where u are, i'd say if ur in the town centre u shud be fine.
some towns have a free broadband areas, i know in ennis it had one for a while but i thinks its gone now

User avatar
Miss S15
Trc On!
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:32 pm
Location: Tipperary
Contact:

Postby Miss S15 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:26 pm

Evelyn wrote:
Miss S15 wrote:I have 02 and its great


Are u in a area where the signal is always good.....



Ya I am. Kinda up on a hill too.
Image


Return to “Non-car related chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests