Page 1 of 1

RS 200 Lambda Sensor

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:28 pm
by corconian
Hello Folks!

Does anybody know what kind of Lambda Sensor the RS200 3S-GE BEAMS engine uses e.g. 4 wire setup etc.. and where I could get one?

CO and HC emissions were a bit high at my recent NCT and reckon the cars O2 sensor/lambda probe/lambda sensor might be problematic.

Appreciate any comments

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:29 pm
by Andyk
who shot who in the what now??????????????????? :( :( :(

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:49 am
by rodge
!! Slightly off topic!! Where you getting your work done on the car?? Iv used the guy in Bishopstown Autos before but hes a bit pricy. Any ideas, mine is due a major service.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:08 am
by corconian
Hi Rodge

Haven' brought the car to anyone yet. Googled the symptoms and the problem is most likely a problematic lambda sensor. Seems it's just like a spark plug replacement, reckon I can handle that! Inventing the wheel is not always the easiest way but there’s satisfaction in it. If I can't work it out, I will have to go to the expert. Reckon the guy in Bishopstown Autos could be that guy since he sells these cars and probably knows all about them. I do know another guy who is in every sense a car guru and I might run the problem by him if needs be. I'll let you know how it goes and who I use if it comes to that.

Mike

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:03 pm
by rodge
Ah sher tis yourself. Hello. Well keep me posted anyway Im thinking of going to Kearys with mine, I want someone known.

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:54 pm
by Bobby
hi, it more than likely is the lamda sensor as i had the same problem with my one going for the nct. any auto factors should be able to supply you with one. they are a 4 wire setup and easy to change. the one i bought for my car cost 100e though there are different types of lamda sensors available. they are fairly universal for the toyota cars

Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 9:15 am
by rodge
I got mine serviced there last week and the lamda sensor was failing the required levels so they cleaned the throttle body and everything was sorted. Its a very easy process apparantly. Maybe that could be a cheaper option.

Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 11:12 pm
by corconian
Just to let you know that the problem got sorted and my car drove through the NCT Test. The problem was that I had to replace the Lambda Sensor/ O2 Sensor. I also had the throttle body cleaned out like Rodge suggested, this probably helped too.