Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Resetting the ecu

Section for all helpful how-to's related to Altezzas
Forum rules
This forum is now a closed section, it is purely for reference on how to do work on your Altezza. If you have a query please post in the relative section.
User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Resetting the ecu

Postby Dan » Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:17 pm

It is recommended that the engine ECU is reset after any engine performance modifications have been made to the vehicle, including using a higher octane fuel, to accelerate the learning of any new parameters. Resetting the ECU will also clear any stored error codes, however if you have a fault with your vehicle it is advisable that these codes are retrieved rather than wiped as they may help in diagnosing the problem.


Make sure the ignition is turned off

Remove the engine bay fuse box cover

Remove the 20Amp/25Amp EFI fuse

Remove the 15Amp ECTS fuse

Wait for 30 seconds

Stick back in the two fuses

Replace the fuse box cover

User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Damn!

Postby Mr. Tezza » Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:26 am

Think i took out the wrong fuses when i 'tried' resettin my ecu after puttin in the induction kit! :(

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Damn!

Postby Dan » Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:41 am

Mr. Tezza wrote:Think i took out the wrong fuses when i 'tried' resettin my ecu after puttin in the induction kit! :(


Maybe that would explain the 186BHP figure. No u know for next time!

User avatar
Noel
Moderator
Posts: 3726
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: oldville

Postby Noel » Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:00 pm

did everyone have their air con. turned off during the dyno run??? as i've heard it knocks a few bhp of the figure :wink:

User avatar
elexes
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:20 am
Location: Tullamore , Offaly

Postby elexes » Mon Mar 05, 2007 12:18 am

dammit
if ive helped you in anyway vote for carlow to be the first tezzaworld drinking session

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:54 am

Noel wrote:did everyone have their air con. turned off during the dyno run??? as i've heard it knocks a few bhp of the figure :wink:


Well i had mine off and i saw Mick turning up the temp dial to full. Dunno why. Maybe it gives an extra 2 bhp!

User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Postby Mr. Tezza » Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:36 pm

Think mine was on??? :oops: resettin the ECU now again properly, i'll let ye know if theres much of a difference, surely i'd notice if it goes up by a few bhp!

User avatar
Dizz
Site Admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:52 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Postby Dizz » Fri Mar 09, 2007 5:23 pm

Martin turns the heating up full blast when he's testing a car so don't worry bout the AC he would have had them all off...

User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Postby Mr. Tezza » Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:07 pm

There was actually a very noticeable difference in the idle rev of the car, its gone very low but not to the point that its on the verge of stalling or anythin like that, a lot smoother delivering the power eswell

User avatar
Noel
Moderator
Posts: 3726
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: oldville

Postby Noel » Tue Mar 13, 2007 11:36 pm

Also for Auto drivers your better off to disconnect the battery than to just pull fuses... apparently fuses alone won't reset the auto-box change up settings :wink:

User avatar
jarocki
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Resetting the ecu

Postby jarocki » Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:12 pm

any chance of getting pics up of the fuses you have to take out???

User avatar
Shane M
Altezza Guru
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:32 pm
Location: County Clare

Re: Resetting the ecu

Postby Shane M » Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:21 pm

here mate check this link :)
http://altezzaclub.org.au/diymods.htm

User avatar
jarocki
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Resetting the ecu

Postby jarocki » Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:25 pm

sweet cheers for that one.


Return to “How-Tos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest