Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Navigation system

For all your audio/visual & general interior needs, post here
tezza06
Noob!
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:57 pm
Contact:

Navigation system

Postby tezza06 » Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:09 pm

Hey all my bro in law gt an altezza frm japan on saturday bu he dnt knw ow to use a pc as well as me so i thought i wud find out for him!!

the car has the built in sat nav in the top of the dash but everything is in japanese any1 knw where i can get a cd for the irish version??!

also hav a problem with the stereo the fm radio only goes from 70fm to 90fm so cant even get 2fm on it!!

would appreciate any help

User avatar
feeler
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: Tipp

Postby feeler » Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:27 pm

use the search on sat nav. but there's no real way of gettin it workin here.

User avatar
Gerbo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Meath

Postby Gerbo » Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:03 am

You will not get the sat nav to work here. You can use the screen for a playstation or dvd player though.

As regards the radio, you need to get a band expander from ebay to get the irish stations.


Band expander:
http://cgi.ebay.ie/RADIO-BAND-EXPANDER-ALL-JAPANESE-CARS-UK-USA_W0QQitemZ120190229182QQihZ002QQcategoryZ1498QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


Failing that, fit an aftermarket cd/dvdplayer and get rid of the stock unit.

User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Postby Mr. Tezza » Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:37 am

Theres a fella in england that can replace the jap unit with one for europe but it costs big money, and you can't use that screen for DVD/playstation because the screen isn't good enuf, to you have to replace that one if you want to use it...

You need to buy a band expander and something else to boost the signal not sure what its called to get irish radio stations
Kerry Rep

User avatar
Gerbo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Meath

Postby Gerbo » Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:18 pm

Why do you need something to boost the signal. There is a signal amplifier already in the altezza it just need a 12volt feed.

User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Postby Mr. Tezza » Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:17 pm

Don't ask me i didn't do it, don't use the radio, but my mate needed to get some sort of signal booster, you can get today fm off channel 2 on the tv! and sometimes i get redfm eswell off the tv
Kerry Rep

User avatar
wee_dave
Trc Off
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Fife
Contact:

Postby wee_dave » Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:56 pm

Gerbo wrote:You will not get the sat nav to work here. You can use the screen for a playstation or dvd player though.


Can u get DVD's to work in it without fitting an aftermarket stereo unit no?

Also is there anyway to pick up TV channels on it 8) :?: Iv fitted a band expander and i can pick up UK radio stations now, its still only displays them within 70-90fm but they work fine :)

User avatar
Noel
Moderator
Posts: 3726
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: oldville

Postby Noel » Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:15 pm

wee_dave wrote:
Gerbo wrote:You will not get the sat nav to work here. You can use the screen for a playstation or dvd player though.


Can u get DVD's to work in it without fitting an aftermarket stereo unit no?

Also is there anyway to pick up TV channels on it 8) :?: Iv fitted a band expander and i can pick up UK radio stations now, its still only displays them within 70-90fm but they work fine :)


The was a post over on the LOC about this very idea.... a new system now allows UK sat nav to be used with different inputs... |DVD, reversing camera etc :wink:

I have asked the thread starter will it work on jap based systems... will get back if he replies :)

User avatar
wee_dave
Trc Off
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Fife
Contact:

Postby wee_dave » Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:23 pm

Nice1, cheers mate, ill have a sniff around when i have more time, i registered on LOC when i 1st bought my Tezz but iv never really posted on it

User avatar
Noel
Moderator
Posts: 3726
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: oldville

Postby Noel » Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:56 pm


User avatar
alimac
Trc Off
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:04 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Postby alimac » Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:46 am

MOre info on this on the New Zealand forums. http://forum.altezzaclub.org.au/index.php?
98 RS200z 6MT


Return to “I.C.E & Interior section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron