Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

DVD player problem

For all your audio/visual & general interior needs, post here
User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

DVD player problem

Postby Dan » Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:46 pm

So in the process of trying to fit my new Clarion VRX578RUSB headunit. problem is when i stick in a dvd player to watch, only the audio is displayed. Manual says i need to hook up the parking brake lead to the handbrake? Anyone know how to do this? Basically i want the screen to be able to display dvd all the time regardless of the position of the handbrake

User avatar
Bobby
South East Rep
Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:58 am
Location: south east

Postby Bobby » Sat Nov 24, 2007 4:55 pm

just connect it to the positive and it should work. it's only looking for the signal from the handbrake so the car is stopped before you watch tv. if the positive wont work then just earth it has to be one of the two.
I BEG TO DIFF-ER!!

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Sat Nov 24, 2007 5:41 pm

what positive?

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:05 pm

turns out it just needs to be grounded! and works fine!

User avatar
Bobby
South East Rep
Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:58 am
Location: south east

Postby Bobby » Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:54 pm

positive off the battery terminal. or earth as being the negative or ground. wasn't sure what the switch on the hand brake was switching the positive or negative thats why i said it was one or the other. anyway your sorted.
I BEG TO DIFF-ER!!

User avatar
tupac_healy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:35 pm
Location: REBEL COUNTY!!
Contact:

Postby tupac_healy » Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:14 am

Quick question, seen in the 'how to' section about changing your head unit.

Can you not just yank out the old one and put in the new one (with a new face place etc) or do you have to buy a special connector?

Cheers
www.xtreme-tuners.com

What you got under the hood??

User avatar
shakey
Altezza Guru
Posts: 789
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: tarbert co.kerry ireland
Contact:

Postby shakey » Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:25 pm

ya dan just earth it to a screw in the back of the head unit or the cage the unit goes into and happy days...just needs a eaerthing point and they say to use the handbrake for saftey reasons .....so if the handbrake is up uyou aint driving...now thats no fun..personally i wud have fitted it down a bit so you would still have access to the top of the heater controls etc..

User avatar
tupac_healy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:35 pm
Location: REBEL COUNTY!!
Contact:

Postby tupac_healy » Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:02 am

tupac_healy wrote:Quick question, seen in the 'how to' section about changing your head unit.

Can you not just yank out the old one and put in the new one (with a new face place etc) or do you have to buy a special connector?

Cheers


Help anyone?
www.xtreme-tuners.com



What you got under the hood??

User avatar
Gerbo
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Meath

Postby Gerbo » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:21 am

If you have the original headunit you cant just yank it out and stick in a new one.
It all depends on whether or not you have the external amp fitted in your car. If so you need to bypass it to put in an afermarket unit.

If you don't have the amp I believe you can buy an iso connector to fit on to the original harness.

This topic has been covered at lenght on this forum and LOC.

More info can be found below:

http://www.tezzaworld.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17

User avatar
tupac_healy
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:35 pm
Location: REBEL COUNTY!!
Contact:

Postby tupac_healy » Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:43 am

Cheers for that,

I checked over that thread and could not find the link to the ISO adapter. I want to change my head unit after xmas and knowing my luck will need this for sure.

Any joy finding the link?

Cheers
www.xtreme-tuners.com



What you got under the hood??


Return to “I.C.E & Interior section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest