Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

HELP : new head unit problem.

For all your audio/visual & general interior needs, post here
User avatar
Altezzahead
Cork rep
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:13 am
Location: Cork
Contact:

HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby Altezzahead » Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:01 pm

Alright people , I installed a dvd player unit and didnt use any iso harness as the player is fitted with a standard ISO connector , Everytime the unit is turned on a get a warning which is displayed in the picture below. Would anyone have any idea what i could have done wrong ?
Attachments
din.JPG
din.JPG (75.42 KiB) Viewed 1156 times

User avatar
patk
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:59 pm
Location: Co. Clare, Ireland

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby patk » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:47 pm

phone markrs200. he'll know. ill pm his number.

User avatar
donut46
Meath Rep
Posts: 2119
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: navan co. meath
Contact:

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby donut46 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:55 pm

the dvd player has a wire that has to be connected to the handbrake wire to stop people watching it while driving but it can be overrided by just earthing it... i think its a yellow wire lad it should be marked seperate from the rest of the wires try that see if thats the problem!!!
QUALITAT ALTEZZA

Please Support Your Club
viewtopic.php?t=8309&f=2

TezzaWorld Car Stickers
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8724&hilit=stickers

User avatar
todd
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby todd » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:24 pm

donut46 wrote:i think its a yellow wire lad it should be marked seperate from the rest of the wires try that see if thats the problem!!!


Bet it's pink ;)

My head unit looks much the same as yours, just earthed the pink and job done but RTFM just to check :lol:

User avatar
todd
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby todd » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:31 pm

Defo pink

Image

Taken from product page here http://www.eonon.com/One-Din-Monitor-bu ... E1015.html

User avatar
donut46
Meath Rep
Posts: 2119
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: navan co. meath
Contact:

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby donut46 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:44 pm

i just checked the old jvc manual i had from my old one there kinda pinky colour too.... i dont think there is a screen ive seen connected with that hasnt been earthed :lol:
QUALITAT ALTEZZA

Please Support Your Club
viewtopic.php?t=8309&f=2

TezzaWorld Car Stickers
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8724&hilit=stickers

User avatar
Evelyn
Moderator
Posts: 6062
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Galway
Contact:

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby Evelyn » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:50 pm

Ya like the lads said its just a earthing problem...P.s it looks good :wink:
How are you finding the radio stations??
Image

User avatar
patk
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:59 pm
Location: Co. Clare, Ireland

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby patk » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:26 pm

its distracting at times. my doubledin has a function if u hold mute button the display disappears which is good at night. had problems at start with signal but undid the autoseek function and its been fine since. couldnt hold a signal before but perfect now(cheers mark, im a moron when it comes to headunits!)

User avatar
Altezzahead
Cork rep
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:13 am
Location: Cork
Contact:

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby Altezzahead » Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:31 pm

thanks to all for yer help , its the pink wire alright , just one question and at the risk of sounding green but how do i earth the wire or is it a case of just taping the wire to some part of the body , i dont really want to go looking for the handbrake wire ...im lazy 8) ?

User avatar
todd
Tezza Fanatic!
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby todd » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:04 pm

I just used the locating hole at the top right, where you screw the air controls back in, that make sense?

User avatar
podgie
Altezza Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: galway. sligo durling week

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby podgie » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:08 pm

Altezzahead wrote:thanks to all for yer help , its the pink wire alright , just one question and at the risk of sounding green but how do i earth the wire or is it a case of just taping the wire to some part of the body , i dont really want to go looking for the handbrake wire ...im lazy 8) ?


pull some of the plastic off rap round a nut and bolt and put in one of the metals hole in the car frame beside the cd player and bolt it up and put a bit of tape over it to cover the nut from touching the cd player,
bubbstezza wrote:i can be a good lookin girl..............sometimes :lol:

^^^^
ya heard it here first,, bubbstezza like dressing up as a women

ADC Sligo Rep

join

www.afterdarkcruisers.com

User avatar
Altezzahead
Cork rep
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:13 am
Location: Cork
Contact:

Re: HELP : new head unit problem.

Postby Altezzahead » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:46 pm

todd wrote:I just used the locating hole at the top right, where you screw the air controls back in, that make sense?



thats exactly where i tried it and it works perfectly . all sorted now :) thanks

podgie wrote:
Altezzahead wrote:thanks to all for yer help , its the pink wire alright , just one question and at the risk of sounding green but how do i earth the wire or is it a case of just taping the wire to some part of the body , i dont really want to go looking for the handbrake wire ...im lazy 8) ?


pull some of the plastic off rap round a nut and bolt and put in one of the metals hole in the car frame beside the cd player and bolt it up and put a bit of tape over it to cover the nut from touching the cd player,


Thanks for the tip , will go back and stick a bi of insulation tape to be safe .


Return to “I.C.E & Interior section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest