Image Please bare with us while we are carrying out some much needed maintenance to the forum. New look coming soon!

Sat nav

For all your audio/visual & general interior needs, post here
User avatar
Mr. Tezza
Kerry Rep
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Killarney, Co. Kerry

Postby Mr. Tezza » Mon May 14, 2007 12:52 pm

Dan wrote:y ethat it would look very tidy though unless the sat nav had a 7 inch screen and was the same shape, most aftermarket gps are smaller than that



Thats ture actually, theres no way you cud hook it up to the existing tv is there????
Kerry Rep

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Mon May 14, 2007 2:05 pm

not as far as i know

differshane
Trc On!
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:51 am
Location: donegal/ireland

Postby differshane » Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:47 am

so tell me if i get a sat nav box unit from an is200 and redo the wires would it allow my sat nav to work here??

User avatar
elexes
Altezza Guru
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:20 am
Location: Tullamore , Offaly

Postby elexes » Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:30 am

yes that should work
if ive helped you in anyway vote for carlow to be the first tezzaworld drinking session

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:44 am

getting the box from an IS200 is the problem, and the connectors maybe different, on the headunit anyway, i'd say you will need to do a lot of messy cutting and splicing. Lexus nav is not supposed to be great and they are only doing updates for dvd units now as far as i know and they like gold dust and the update dvds can be quite expensive too

differshane
Trc On!
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:51 am
Location: donegal/ireland

Postby differshane » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:33 am

how big a job would it be to convert it to play dvds then without going t a huge expence id like to make use of it seen as its there!

User avatar
Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 3792
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Dublin

Postby Dan » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:33 pm

Well if you just wanted to play dvds on it, you can swap the screen out with an after market one and buy a dvd player and that should work, the standard screen thats there at the moment doesn't have any inputs for a dvd player and more than likely doesn't have enough colors to display a dvd properly. You could go messing around with the sat nav box in the boot and try splicing your dvd wiring into that but i think the other option is easier


Return to “I.C.E & Interior section”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest